The annual Chesley Awards will be presented by the Association of Science Fiction & Fantasy Artists during the MidAmeriCon II August 17-21 in Kansas City. Among the honors handed out will be a Lifetime Achievement Award and the artists being considered this year are…

Kinuko Y. Craft

David A. Hardy

Iain McCaig

Gregory Manchess

Wendy Pini

Drew Struzan

A complete list of the award finalists in each category is below. Congratulations and good luck to one and all!

ASFA Logotype adjusted.png
Chesley Awards 2016 Nominees
Members can vote at asfa-art/page/voting

Best Cover Illustration: Hardcover Book
  Richard Anderson The Dinosaur Lords by Victor Milan (Tor, July 2015)
  Lius Lasahido Hannu Rajaniemi: Collected Fiction by Hannu Rajaniemi (Tachycon, May 2015)
  Todd Lockwood Voyage of the Basilisk by Marie Brennan (Tor, March 2015)
  Cynthia Sheppard Karen Memory by Elizabeth Bear (Tor, February 2015)
  Sam Weber Dune by Frank Herbert (The Folio Society, April 2015)

Best Cover Illustration: Paperback Book
  Julie Dillon The Very Best of Kate Elliott by Kate Elliott (Tachycon, February 2015)
  Tyler Jacobson Beyond the Pool of Stars by Howard Andrew Jones (Tor, October 2015)
  Jeffery Alan Love Wolfhound Century by Peter Higgins (Gollancz, May 2015)
  David Palumbo Binti by Nnedi Okorafer (Tor, September 2015)
  John Picacio Invasion of the Body Snatchers by Jack Finney (Simon & Schuster, October 2015)

Best Cover Illustration: Magazine
  Maurizio Manzieri Asimov’s, Oct/Nov 2015
  Reiko Murakami Lightspeed #63, August 2015
  Tran Nguyen Uncanny #4, May/June 2015
  Greg Ruth Alabaster: The Good, the Bad, and the Bird #1, Dark Horse Comics, Dec. 2015
  shichigoro-shingo Clarkesworld #109, October 2015

Best Interior Illustration
  Galen Dara “Tuesdays with Molakesh The Destroyer” by Megan Grey (Fireside Magazine #19)
  Marcel Mercado Southlands RPG (Kobold Press, July 2015)
  Peter Mohrbacher Angelarium: Book of Emanations by Peter Mohrbacher & Eli Minaya
  Tran Nguyen “Transition Management Survey” (Chief Investment Officer, September 2015)
  Sam Weber Dune by Frank Herbert (The Folio Society, July 2015)

Best Color Work: Unpublished
  Joseph Bellofatto Star Ship, Oil
  Donato Giancola Beron and Luthien in the Court of Thingal and Melian, Oil
  Wayne Haag Desert Wreck, Oil
  Jessica TC Lee Enchanted, Digital
  Elizabeth Leggett After Hours, Digital
  Mark Poole Memories, Oil
  Eric Velhagen Felines, Oi

Best Monochrome Work: Unpublished
  Rovina Cai Cold Wind
  Jeremy Enecio Progeny, Graphite on Moleskin
  Travis Lewis Symbiosis, Graphite
  Mark Molchan Return, Graphite
  Ruth Sanderson Invoking the Dragon, Ink/Scratchboard
  Chris Seaman Family Portraithausen, Acrylic
  Allen Williams Bound, Graphite & Gold leaf accent

Best Three-Dimensional Art
  Devon Dorrity Flight of the Merrow, Clay & Bronze
  Thomas Kuebler Adelpha and Her Sister, Mixed
  Stelios Mousarris Inception Coffee Table, Wood
  Forest Rogers The Morrigan, Mixed
  Virginie Ropars Okunoshima, Mixed
  Vincent Villafranca Dark Day for the Metal Heads, Bronze

Best Product Illustration
  Linda Adair Adolescence – Promo art for IlluXcon 2016
  Mitchell Bentley Mitchell Davidson Bentley 2015 Calendar – Albon Lake & Atomic Fly Studios
  Rovina Cai Black Hole – card for Cosmos Tarot & Oracle Deck, The Light Grey Art Lab
  Jacob Murray A Game of Thrones: The Card Game – 2nd edition box art, Fantasy Flight Games
  John Picacio El Arbol – Loteria card, Lone Boy
  Magali Villeneuve George R.R. Martin: Song of Ice and Fire – 2016 calendar, Bantam

Best Gaming – Related Illustration
  Clint Cearley Mind Rot – Dragons of Tarkir Magic Card, WotC
  Vincent Proce Guardian Automaton – Magic Origins Magic Card, WotC
  Anna Steinbauer Blessed Spirits – Magic Origins Magic Card, WotC
  Ryan Yee Fruit of the First Tree – Fate Reforged Magic Card, WotC
   Min Yum Sandblast – Fate Reforged Magic Card, WotC

Best Art Director
  Neil Clarke Clarkesworld magazine
  Irene Gallo Tor Books &
  Jeremy Jarvis Wizards of the Coast
  Elizabeth Leggett Lightspeed’s Queers Destroy Science Fiction! special issue
  Lauren Panepinto Orbit Books & Muddy Colors contributor
  Betsy Wolheim & Shelia Gilbert DAW Books

Lifetime Artistic Achievement
  Kinuko Y. Craft
  David A. Hardy
  Greg Manchess
  Iain McCaig
  Wendy Pini
  Drew Struzan